Jessica Ring


Social Care Worker

Cork, Ireland

Curriculum Vitae

Name: Jessica Ring.

D.O.B: 16/11/1984

Address:13 heffernans terrace, castlemartyr. cork

Mobile Phone: 087- 4592978/021-4667314

Email: [email protected]

Driver’s license: Yes, Full Irish.



• Waterford Institute of Technology. 2008 – 2012
I obtained a BA in Applied Social Studies in Social care.

Colaiste Stiofain Naofa, Cork. 2004 – 2005.
I did a FETAC course in Graphic Design and passed with a Merit.

St Mary’s High School, Midleton, Co. Cork. 1997 – 2002.
Junior Certificate 1999, Leaving Certificate in 2002.


Employment history

Support Worker

Cork Assocition for Autism, Cork

March 2017 – Present

As a support worker I  have worked across Day, Respite and Residential Services providing care, support and training to adults with autism.

The adults at the service are all on different levels of the autism spectrum, some very high functioning and others less so, and often presenting with challenging behaviours. As support workers we are advocates for the service users, and take a person centred approach. Each service user has a person centred plan that we work from, these can often change depending on the service users goals, wants and needs.

Other aspects of the role include personal and intimate car, report writing, filling in of daily charts, driving service users to outings and appointments, administering of medication all keeping in line with hiqa standards.

When I began with the CAA I worked on the relief panel, and worked at many locations across the service when needed. I then advanced to a maternity leave cover at a Day Service, then onto a residential team working with a young woman living in her own residential home for the first time, having transitioned form a group setting.

I have learned a lot working across all areas, however I would like a permanent position within day service long term as I have a young family. I also love the fast paced environment and the variety of people you get to work with on a day to day basis, and I think i fit well into the team/setting.


Sales Specialist

Voxpro, Mahon Crescent, Mahon, Cork.

October 2015 – 2017

In this role I worked as a Customer Experience and Sales specialist at Voxpro, working for the Stripe contract which process credit card payments for thousands of customers worldwide. I assessed potential customers to see if they were a good fit for the business, and guided them through setting up with Stripe.

My son was born in May this year and although I enjoy my work I made the move work in the Social Care as I completed my studies in this area.


Customer relations advisor

Apple, Lavitts quay, Cork.

Dec 2013 – 2015

As a member of the customer relations team at Apple Cork, I worked on a day to day basis helping customers resolve any issues they experienced with the products or procedures set in place. I worked on a team of 20 persons dedicated to giving the best level of customer service at a very high standard, and hitting daily targets.

I left this job after I had my daughter, as I took a career break for a year.


Executive relations case manager

Electronic Arts, Parkmore West IDA, Ballybrit. Galway.

November 2011 – 2013

I was a member of the executive relations team at Electronic arts, supporting a number of computer games the company have released – this was a specialist team dealing only with the VIP accounts. There were are a number of tasks on a day to day basis which include emailing, calling and  writing to customers regarding their issues.

I working closely with management and often with sensitive issues, always aiming to give excellent service and also take on supervisory role above the rest of the lower tier agents within the organization – helping them with an difficult cases they encountered or issues they could not resolve themselves.

While this role carried a lot of responsibility and I worked on many interesting issues, I moved back to Cork and left the company.


Volunteer work/ Placements

The Brothers of Charity, Ferrybank. Co Waterford.

January 2011- May 2011.

I chose to do my 3rd year college placement at the Brothers of Charity southeast services, working in the area of intellectual disabilities. I chose to do placement within the service as intellectual disabilities was an area which I had little or no prior experience working in and something I wished to expand upon.

I was based at Parkside which had both residential and day services for adults with mild to moderate levels of intellectual disability. We worked with them through holistic daily programmes which were individually tailored to meet the needs of the people who use the services.

Parkside is a rural setting, the day services include a horticultural center, a farm and a workshop that supplied concrete and timber products and also did craftwork. The area where I was based in was home and hygiene where service users were taught life skills such as cooking, cleaning, healthy eating, lifestyle choices and personal hygiene.

I developed relationships with many of the service users at the Brothers of Charity over my time there, in particular one of the more challenging of the service users. I loved every minute of the placement although at times it was challenging, but I found the work enormously rewarding and eye opening.


XLC Project, Manor St, Waterford

September 09 – December 09

I worked as a volunteer at the XLC Project as part of my college placement, I was an assistant at the project which is a school for early school leavers from ages 12 to up to people in their 40’s.

I worked on a group basis and also one to one basis with clients helping them with subjects they found difficult as well as showing them how to use the internet and setting them up with email accounts, this was most rewarding as many clients had never even used a pc and found it quite difficult.

The work was challenging overall and I feel that I learned and developed over the 4 month period I spent at the XLC project.


COPE Summer schools – 98 – 01.

I was a volunteer with C.O.P.E in Midleton, Co. Cork for 4 summers. I worked with service users who had both physical and intellectuall disabilities, aging from young children to mid-20’s.

During the period I was primary carer for some individuals on a day to day basis, carrying out many duties, such as personal care, playtime and taking servies users on outings to such places as Dublin Zoo and open farms which both the service users and the carers enjoyed.

I loved the work although it was a challenge at such a young age and had to stop volunteering to do my leaving certificate, but this experience is what eventually made me consider returning to college to continue my studies in the area of social care.


Training completed

Buchallom and Stesaloid 2017

MAPA 2017

Safeguarding 2017

Administering of Medication 2017


Additional information and interests

I am fully garda vetted since February 2017




Avilable upon request




BA in Applied Social Studies in Social care at Waterford Institute of technology


March 2017

Care Support Worker at Cork Assoucation for Autism

  • Updated 4 years ago